A minuscule spec on a fraction of a pale blue dot.

Image

Once we overcome our fear of being tiny, we find ourselves on the threshold of a vast and awesome Universe that utterly dwarfs — in time, in space, and in potential — the tidy anthropocentric proscenium of our ancestors. ~ Carl Sagan

This weekend was the Perseid Meteor shower. Being a city slicker I normally don’t get the opportunity to enjoy the amazing light shows they put on. I was lucky enough to catch the beginning of this amazing celestial event, as I was out at my mothers in the country for our annual summer family BBQ. We were fortunate enough to have a clear skies, so I was able to fully enjoy what turned out to be a beautiful light show.

It’s events like the meteor shower, which leave me feeling incredibly small in comparison to the rest of universe. No matter what challenges I face in life, or how big my insecurities feel, its an awfully humbling feeling to realize just how small and unimportant they are in the general scheme of things. Yet in spite of being faced with such a humbling experience, I can’t help but feel overwhelmed by the enormity of the problems I face in my life. I have some big decisions to make regarding my future, many of which scare me.

We all can’t help but view ourselves as the center of our own universe. Not because we are inherently a selfish species, but more so because our understanding of the world around us is shaped by our own individual experiences. Every so often we are presented with a situation, problem or moment in life where we are faced with the truth, that despite how important our world seems, we are nothing more than a tiny spec, on a fraction of a dot in the ever expanding universe.

In my everyday life I feel tiny in comparison to the problems I’m facing and that’s what scares me. Yet I know that it only scares me because of the unknown factors that can turn my world upside down. I wonder if its this fear that has prevented me from actually being able to make a solid decision regarding my future and who I wanna be. I also wonder if that’s part of the reason why I’m struggling so much to define where I fit in.

All I know is that even though my problems in life are insignificant in comparison to the universe as a whole, they aren’t insignificant to the world that is my existence. And while my time on this pale blue dot we inhabit is limited, if I wish to achieve my maximum potential, that I must face each problem head on no matter how enormous they may seem.

(NOTE: The image above is the “Pale Blue Dot” photograph of the Earth taken by the Voyager 1 spacecraft on July 6, 1990. The Earth is the relatively bright speck of light about halfway across the uppermost sunbeam. Image is owned by NASA and was found on the wikipedia article for the image)

Leave a Reply

