Three things I’d tell 16 year old me.

Welcome back fellow bloggers,

For those of you who are new to my blog, I felt for my third post I’d give you an honest insight to the man behind the words. With that idea in mind I struggled with an easy way to do this without rambling on and on about my life, self, and accomplishments. This lead me to ask myself that old question, ” If I could take the knowledge I gained in adulthood and tell it to my 16 year old self what would it be?”.

I’ve recently begun a journey of self discovery and understanding, so this question hits pretty close to home right now. I’ve decided to share three things I would tell my younger self on today’s blog post.

Number 1: Finish school. Especially while its free.

I can’t count how many times I heard this from parents/teachers while growing up. I wish I’d listened, but at the time I was more focused on my social status than I was on my studies. Funny enough all those so called “friends” I no longer have any contact with. Just goes to show what was the better investment of time as here I am now a 30 year old, broke ass college student. Schools expensive. Kids don’t realize just how lucky they are it’s free.

Number 2: Sometimes Love isn’t enough to keep you happy.

It took me a few heartaches before I learned this lesson. Since 16 I’ve been in Love with 3 separate girlfriends. And while both of those relationships ended for completely different reasons, it wasn’t until after the second one ended that I learned this lesson. No matter how much you love or care about someone it doesn’t mean they are right for you or you for them. Love is a wonderful feeling but don’t let it guide you towards happiness. You’re doomed for failure if you count on love getting you through any bumps in your relationships. It takes dedication, honest and open communication, and a logical approach towards any situation your relationship faces for it to be successful. Honesty being the key word. Never sacrifice your happiness for love but find a balance between both. It’s this knowledge has helped me in my current relationship even when things have been rough.

Number 3: Never stop exploring the unknown and learn learn learn!

The world is a wide, wonderful place. We only have so much time on this planet to experience it all. So make sure to explore the secrets the world has to offer. From something as small as learning a new skill to something as big as taking off on an adventure in some far off place. It wasn’t until I started challenging myself to step out of my comfort zone and experience more of the world that I started learning more about myself. It’s the knowledge we gain and the experiences we go through in life that define who we are. So be sure to never stop being curious about yourself or the world around you. Life’s to short to sit back and watch everyone else have all the fun.

Now while not all of you may agree with my statements regarding your own lives, in regards to my own life these lessons are some of the most important things I’ve learned as an adult. If I had a chance to have a serious discussion with 16 year old me, it’s these lessons I would teach myself to help better prepare for life as an adult.

Thanks for reading. Once again I encourage any comments or opinions readers may have. Until next time I leave you with another quote that I try to live by.

Don’t look back in anger. It’s just a memory. – Strung Out

One thought on “Three things I’d tell 16 year old me.

  1. Sarah says:

    I really enjoyed reading this, Mike! I definitely would tell the same things to my 16-year-old self, along with a few other things! Keep blogging…I look forward to reading your next post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

